Third Shot Drop

Understanding the ‘Re-Establishment’ Rule

December 23 2025
Understanding the ‘Re-Establishment’ Rule

Pickleball rules are full of quirks. And no technicality causes more tiffs or challenges than the “re-establishment” rule.

Pros hate getting called for it. You’re probably not getting called for it enough.

During our recent The Dink MiLP National Championship event in Dallas, we pulled legendary USAP ref Ron Ponder onto a court and lobbed as many rule-related questions as we could at him, including this one. Here’s what you need to know.

✅ The re-establishment rule is about where both of your feet are at the moment you strike a volley, and whether you have re-established outside the kitchen before doing so.

Here’s the most common violation:

  • A player steps into the NVZ to hit a dink (even a toe on the line counts here)
  • The next ball is sent at them in the air
  • They backpedal off the line and hit a return volley
  • If both feet don’t touch down outside of the NVZ before contact is made, that’s a fault

This happens all the time. And honestly, you’re probably guilty of a few innocent faults yourself. But it’s worth keeping an eye out across the net, too — if an opponent isn’t re-establishing regularly, even in rec play, you’re well within your rights to call them on it.

The pros have this down to a science. Ponder tells us how:

  • If your toe is on the line, simply lift the toe while keeping your heel down — boom, you’ve re-established outside the NVZ
  • A simple, short slide step does the trick as well — quick and efficient, you’re back in the game

This is one of those rules that’s more complex than it sounds. Check out the video to ensure you’re on the right side of the law every time.

Add New
Comments

no comments found